Fear, my friend, my enemy

I have a lot of fear. It used to be extreme fear, irrational fear. In the past, I used to think that not many others dealt with fear, but now I think that it’s actually very common. We all fear something. We may fear death or losing a loved one. We may fear judgment from others or a fear of failing at what we most want to succeed at. I’ve lived with fear so long that it has become an acceptable sin in my life. Fear has become my friend. Hello fear, I know you, I am used to you, its more comfortable when you are around because if I do the thing that I fear, it would be risky. I don’t want to be friendly with fear. I don’t want to accept it in my life as normal. With God’s help I will fight fear, and I pray that I will conquer fear, for we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. I know I’m not the only one who struggles, for so many times in the Bible, the Lord says “Do not fear.” It is Do not fear, for I have loved you, I have called you by name, You are mine. or as the psalmist says “I will fear no evil, for you are with me“. Proverbs says the Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord will be kept safe.

Lord
I want to fully experience your love. I still fear so much. Why? You have given me grace, you are not going to punish me even when my own heart condemns me. Lord, you are greater than my own fearful heart. God I want to be a conqueror. I don’t want to go through this life not conquering fear. Fear is a thorn in my flesh, ever-present. I hate it, I despise it, I forsake it. You know I am weak. How I ponder and dwell on things that are not true. How fear, worry, and anxiety can plague my soul, draining me from joy in the moment. Help me to refocus. To focus on what is true. You are what is true. Your grace that forgives, that says I am made new. Help me to focus on what is pleasant and beautiful, to focus on what is life-giving instead of those that dry up the soul. Help me to focus on your love which nothing, absolutely nothing, can separate You from me. Thank you God, that you are there for me even in the midst of my confusion and fear. Thank you that you are my strong tower, my fortress and my Rock. Again, I ask that I will fully experience your love. In your precious and holy Name Jesus
Amen

verses:Romans 8:37,39;Philippians 4:8, 1 John 3:20 ,Psalm 23:4 ,Isaiah 41:10, Proverbs 29:25

Leave a Reply

