Bloom into Gratefulness-A Five Minute Friday

Amelie pink tree

I wake up to the sound of his crying. Its 5:30AM and he is up for the day. I am tired but I get up and see his face turn to joy when he sees me. I am tired and he is tired so we head out the door for a walk on a sleepy Sunday morning. It is quiet. So quiet for this urban environment.  No trains or planes or sounds of sirens.   I look around as I pass down the street. No one is awake, or if they are, they are inside reading their morning newspaper and drinking their first cup of coffee. I breathe in the silence, thankful for this moment. I have been ungrateful for so long. I have been looking downward to the pit instead of arms lifted toward God. I look around, the flowers are exploding in color. The birds are lifting their voices to heaven, singing a cacophony of sounds, some in unison and others with their own unique song to sing. I have been missing this for far too long.

 

I live in an oasis right here in the midst of the bustle of the city.

My neighbors and I on this sleepy street may be different in many ways, but we have this one thing in common: we love the beauty of the outdoors. Anyone who chose to live on this street, chose to live here because they are a lover of flowers, grass, trees. My neighbor next to me planting daisies by my window so I can enjoy them.  Flowers are growing every where, in love planted by those that care about true beauty. I have missed it, because I have focused on how small it is, how tiny our yards are in comparison to the overflowing splendor of country life I grew up in and the beauty of the mountains. I have missed the tiny joys of how God has provided a retreat and a yard for my children to run around, a place to grow fruits and vegetables. He knew I would need space and he gave it to me, right in the heart of a busy place.I have been ungrateful for far too long.

I mourn the fact that I have taken so much for granted. My family. My health. Peace. Flowers exploding into bloom. I am always looking for the next big thing instead of enjoying this moment.  I am making a choice.  A choice to nourish the life that God has given me.  I want to nourish my relationships, my house, and especially my family.  I want to choose these things that fill me up with life.

I need to reframe the way I see things.  I need to see with eyes of thankfulness instead of eyes that always want more. 

Jesus, forgive my ungratefulness. Oh how I have missed what you have given me and always want more.  Forgive me.  Help me to take the time to see the beauty you have provided.  In your precious name Jesus, Amen.

Inspired by 1000 Gifts by Ann Voskamp

I am linking up with Lisa Jo Baker for 5-minute friday

20 thoughts on “Bloom into Gratefulness-A Five Minute Friday

  1. Dana

    Oh sister, right there with you on needing to stay awake to the beauty around me, needing to continually choose gratitude in a season where so many things feel hard. Glad I linked up after you at Lisa-Jo’s today. Blessings to you!

    Reply
  2. Stacey Daze

    When we start seeing things differently it can be almost mind blowing! So many things we missed before. But, realizing we missed it means we are now seeing it!

    Reply
  3. judith heaney

    Beautiful words that draw me into your silence, into your oasis and remind me to come alive in this moment that I have been given. You’re right. It is so easy, too easy, to keep looking to the next big thing and to get stuck in ungratefulness that we miss the splendor of God’s creation that sings and blooms all around us.

    Thank you for taking me on this walk with your through your neighborhood and for giving me a glimpse of God’s beauty through your eyes. Visiting from the fmf family and blessed to discover your words today. Thank you!

    Reply
  4. Anne

    You drew me into your story and into your thoughts immediately. I, too, have had seasons of being ungrateful for where I am. In fact, even now, we are looking to downsize to a smaller home and I have been so consumed with looking elsewhere, that I forget to be thankful for the home we’ve lived in for 14 years. Thank you so much for your beautiful words and sharing your heart! Visiting from FMF! Blessings!

    Reply
    1. kortneystanis Post author

      It is SO easy for me to focus on the negative instead of the bountiful blessings…I don’t want to take them for granted any more. Thank you for stopping!

      Reply
  5. Keri

    That was Beautiful! Thanks for sharing. My husband is from the suburbs of Chicago. We live in Florida. I used to feel the same way when we lived in a townhouse in our city for 14 years. The Lord also showed me how ungrateful I was and began to show me all the Blessings around me. We have been gone from there for quite some time now but the lessons he taught me have stuck with me!

    Reply
  6. Jayne

    reading this through tears, kind of been there this week too in regards to ungratefulness, thank you for your fresh perspective and honesty!

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Finishing Well-Five Minute Friday | vulnerableprayers

  8. Pingback: The Garden of My Soul | vulnerableprayers

  9. mbethany

    Hi Kortney!

    We’re about to study this book and concept at a women’s retreat this weekend! I’m very excited. Thanks for sharing these words, they are a great launching pad : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

