Finishing Well-Five Minute Friday

 

 

sweetgirl

 

I want to finish well.  I want to finish the small shorter races that God has marked our for me. The race of when my baby turns one. The race of another year serving in ministry. The race of the first year of kindergarten. The longer race of teaching my children God’s truths. The shorter race of the summer with two preschoolers and a baby.

 

I admit I have grown weary, overwhelmed. God is faithful and has sent me refreshment, replenishment. This is not an easy season for me. It is hard as I struggle, as I wrestle to find joy in the moment, to find a balance in life when life is-quite franklyjust a little bit unbalanced right now.

 

I struggle to find the right words, because sometimes the path, finishing the race is not as clear-cut as I would like it to be. I have to believe God when He promises that when I turn to the right or to the left, I will hear a voice saying, this is the way, walk in it. I have to trust the Spirit to help me finish the race well.

 


When I feel weary, when the race seems long, I pray. I pray and I ask God to help me. And he always does. Like Daniel , I may have to wait for the answer to my prayer. I have to wait, just as God also says, wait for the Lord, be strong and take heart, and wait for the Lord.

I wrote these verses in my journal this past week:

 


I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.-2 Timothy 4:7

 

Let us run with perseverance the race that is marked out for us. Hebrews 12:1

 

Run in such a way to get the prize. I Corinthians 9:24

 

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not lose heart. Galatians 6:9

 

May I not just write these words down, but may my heart live them.

 

Jesus, my Lord and My God- Some races I am finishing soon, I ask for perseverance and also for joy in the moment. I want to see the beauty of their faces as I know this season of little ones should be cherished and remembered. Help me to wait for you, even when the waiting seems long. Help me to listen to the still small voice whispering-this is the way, walk in it.

 

I am linking up with Lisa Jo Baker for Five Minute Friday to share my story.

 

Bible Verses: Daniel 10:12-14, Isaiah 30:21, Psalm 27:14

2 thoughts on “Finishing Well-Five Minute Friday

  1. Cheryl

    What a great reminder of finishing the “small shorter races.” It is those small shorter races that make up our well or not-so-well bigger longer finish. This is especially good to keep in mind in the weary, worn-down days.
    I am visiting from FMF.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

