Whisper-Five Minute Friday

Whisper

Elijah knew your voice.

He recognized it the second He heard it.

It wasn’t in the wind that shattered cliffs.

It wasn’t in the earthquake.

It wasn’t even in the fire.

….after the fire, there was a soft whisper. When Elijah heard it, he went out and stood, ready to hear Your voice.

Do I recognize your soft whisper? Do I make the time to hear it? Do I listen only when I like to, listening to some things and blocking your voice out when it is too hard to do?

Whisper. Tune my ears to hear You. Quiet me in your presence. God help me, because I so need to hear that whisper. I need your help to shepherd my little ones. I need your help , your whisper, to show me the way to help serve those around me.

Whisper….shhhhh…..

Help me quiet the noise.

Today IĀ amĀ linking up with Kate Motaung for Five Minute Friday. This is where I join with other writers as we write for 5 minutes, unedited.

8 thoughts on “Whisper-Five Minute Friday

  1. Bethany

    This is so true. It has hard to learn to listen, again, after I have been so enmeshed in the noise for awhile. Thanks for the food for thought!

    Reply
  2. 9jaime

    I find myself occupying myself with Facebook or a silly game on my phone instead of listening to God’s whispers. Interesting, isn’t it? I have always found that God speaks very clearly to me if I just listen quietly (instead of making demands). God bless!

    Reply
    1. kortneystanis Post author

      I know, facebook can be a drain for me for listening to God if I let it. I have to constantly keep myself in check because I tend to be more on the computer than I should.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

