Spending time with Jesus

But Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.  Luke 5:16

 

I often forget who Jesus is.  I forget in the busyness and craziness of life what Jesus, our ultimate example, looked like.  I start reading the gospel of Luke to remind myself: Who is Jesus?  How did he do life?  In what ways can I imitate him?  Whether it be kids and chaos, ministry or work, our lives are hectic and frantic.
 

I look to Jesus.

 

But Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.  Luke 5:16 Everyone clamored for his attention.  Everyone wanted to  have his healing hands touch them, hear his voice.  He was a preacher,teacher, a mentor to his disciples.  He could have easily said-I need to keep going, I need to give all my time to everyone, and not take time to pray.  But he was Jesus, and he said the example for us.  If he needed to take time to be with the Father, how much more do I need to take that time.

 

Time for just Jesus and I.

 

Without texting.  Without the computer.  Without phone.  Paperwork saved for later.  That call I need to make, it can wait.  There will always be more stuff to consume my time.  There will always be needs that have to be met.

 

Time with God is sacred.

 

As much as possible, I need to follow the example of perfect God, perfect Man.  I need my manna for the day.  Quiet.  Stillness.  Quieting my mind by reading the Word, praying and writing my thoughts back to a good God who knows that I need the example of Jesus taking time to be with the Father.   We sometimes become more focused on producing fruit instead of tending roots that will only grow deep in the soil by the river of God.

Jesus often withdrew.  Regularly.  Habitually.  He knew his limits.  Did he feel depleted as everyone clamored for his attention, his healing, his miracles?

 

Jesus knew how to get filled so that he could serve.  To be the ultimate servant, he had to spend time with the Father.  If Jesus needed this, how much more do I?

 

Jesus, I feel the weight of life bogging me down.  There is so much to be done, and there are not enough minutes in the day.  My working faster does not seem to eliminate all the needs that must be done.  I long to spend time with you, and yet, when I have a minute, I find it hard to focus.  It is hard to quiet my soul and empty myself of all the needs of children and others.  Jesus help me.  I cannot do it on my own.  Again, I am at your mercy.  I depend on you to teach me to quiet the noise.  Teach me to let go of distractions.  Help me to set a boundary around our sacred time.  In your precious and holy name, Amen. 

 

 

Linking to Holley Gerth to share my life.

6 thoughts on “Spending time with Jesus

  1. elizabethfstewart

    I am often in wonder at the fact that He was never pressed, rushed, or even felt guilty, at all of the unmet needs in the world around Him. He was at perfect peace in only speaking and doing what His Father led Him to do, never driven like I am by the demands of others or “what will they think of me”. So happy to be your neighbor at Holley’s this week.

    Reply
    1. kortneystanis Post author

      I know, I am so driven by what others think of me. That is the way king Saul was and it was his ruin…it has definitely been pressed upon me very recently I must seek what God thinks, not what others think of me.

      Reply
  2. Maria @ Shoots + Roots

    I need my manna for the day– love this line. As I develop a more intimate relationship with God, I find that I crave and need that connection, my time with Him to get me through the day. Not because I am having a bad day but because it fills my heart to know that I am in fellowship with Him.

    Reply
    1. kortneystanis Post author

      Yes, I crave time in the word. Hebrews 11:6 Without faith it is impossible to please God, because you much believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him. (the word seek in the greek can be translated crave) Thank you for stopping Maria!!!

      Reply
    1. kortneystanis Post author

      It is SO hard Sarah. And I find that it becomes increasingly harder and more tricky as I balance more of the things that God calls me to do. May He always be my First Love, and May I recognize when I am replacing Him with lesser things.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

